[x close]

In the next few weeks we'll be improving the way you can manage your account online using your mobile.

Find out more information

Complaints publication report

1 July 2016 to 31 December 2016

Firm Name Yorkshire Building Society
Other firms included in this report

Chelsea Building Society
Barnsley Building Society
Norwich & Peterborough Building Society
Norwich & Peterborough Investment Brokers

Period covered 1 July 2016 to 31 December 2016

Below is a table showing how many complaints Yorkshire Building Society received and dealt with from 1 July 2016 to 31 December 2016.

Financial companies are now required to report all complaints received from customers. This is a different approach from previous reports, where those complaints that had been resolved by the end of the following business day were not reported. Therefore these figures are not directly comparable to previous publications.

The figures below show how these relate to the number of accounts in each grouping, to allow comparisons to be made with other financial organisations on a consistent basis.

  • We have over 3.05 million banking, savings and loan accounts and received 1.55 complaints in total for every 1000 accounts.
  • We have over 157,000 mortgage balances and receive 13.5 complaints for every 1000 mortgage balances.
  • We sold just over 8000 policies across insurance and pure protection. Within this category we also report complaints for products we no longer sell namely Mortgage Payment and Protection (MPPI) and received 409.06 complaints per 1000 insurance and pure protection policies sold. 91% of these insurance and pure protection complaints were MPPI complaints.

Complaints are very important to us. We use complaints to understand where our customers aren’t happy with our service so we can make improvements. We always do our best to deal with complaints as quickly and fairly as possible. Our complaints process has been designed with customers at its heart. If you have a complaint, please get in touch and we’ll do all we can to resolve the matter with you.

 

back to top

Complaints data

  Number of complaints opened by Volume of business  
Product/Service Grouping Provision (at reporting period end date) intermediation (within the reporting period) Number of complaints opened Number of complaints closed Percentage closed within 3 days Percentage closed after 3 days but within 8 weeks Percentage upheld Main cause of complaints opened
Banking and credit cards 1.55   4725 4808 83.84% 14.95% 66.5% General Admin / Customer Service
Home Finance 13.5   2126 2187 67.58% 31.28% 69.4% General Admin / Customer Service
Insurance & Pure protection   409.06 3304 3275 38.02% 58.08% 22.5% Advising, Selling and Arranging
Decumulation and Pensions   N/A 0 1 0.00% 0.00% 0.0% N/A
Investments   N/A 158 180 44.44% 43.33% 43.9% Advising, Selling and Arranging
Credit Related                

Key

  • Provision - these are the number of complaints per 1000 active accounts or 1000 outstanding balances (Home Finance) as of 31st December 2016
  • Intermediation - Number of sales in the period 1st July 2016 - 31st December 2016.
back to top

Get in touch

Visit a branch or agency

Enter a town, city or postcode to find your nearest branch.

Call us

  • 8am - 8pm: Mon to Fri
  • 9am - 1pm: Sat
0800 056 5252