Complaints Publication Report

See how many complaints Yorkshire Building Society received and dealt over a six month period and how these relate to the number of accounts in each grouping, to allow comparisons to be made with other financial organisations on a consistent basis.

1st January 2013 to 30th June 2013


Firm Name Yorkshire Building Society
Other firms included in this report Barnsley Building Society
Chelsea Building Society
Chelsea Mortgage Services
Norwich & Peterborough Building Society
Egg mortgage and savings
Period covered 1st January 2013 to 30th June 2013

Below is a table showing how many complaints Yorkshire Building Society received and dealt with from 1st January 2013 to 30th June 2013. The comparative figures show how these relate to the number of accounts or income in each grouping, to allow comparisons to be made with other financial organisations on a consistent basis.

To put the figures into context:

  • We have over 3.74 million savings accounts and over 103,000 current accounts. We received 0.36 complaints for every 1000 savings accounts and 8.56 complaints for every 1000 current accounts.
  • Of the 261,001 mortgage accounts, we received 4.88 complaints for every 1000 mortgages.
  • We received 23.4 general insurance and pure life protection complaints for every 1000 policies. This figure remains high due to the numbers of payment protection insurance complaints still being received by the Society.

Complaints are very important to us. We use complaints to understand where our customers aren't happy with our service so we can make improvements. We always do our best to deal with complaints as quickly and fairly as possible. Our complaints process has been designed with customers at its heart. If you have a complaint, please get in touch and we'll do all we can to resolve the matter with you.

The Financial Ombudsman Service also publish complaint data regarding the number of complaints received and the proportion upheld by the Ombudsman for individual firms. Details can be found at the Financial Ombudsman Service - publication of complaints data.


Complaints Data

Complaints received and dealt with by Yorkshire Building Society from 1st January 2013 – 30th June 2013.

Product/Service Grouping Number of complaints opened Number of complaints closed Complaints closed within 8 weeks Closed complaints upheld by YBS
Banking and credit cards 2228 2231 98.6% 28.1%
Home Finance 1273 1168 97.9% 33.5%
General Insurance & Pure protection 3346 3822 99.3% 8.8%
Life, Pensions and Decumulation 129 132 86.4% 14.4%
Investments 94 93 100.0% 32.3%