Complaints Publication Report

See how many complaints Yorkshire Building Society received and dealt over a six month period and how these relate to the number of accounts in each grouping, to allow comparisons to be made with other financial organisations on a consistent basis.

1st July 2013 to 31st December 2013


Firm Name Yorkshire Building Society
Other firms included in this report Barnsley Building Society
Chelsea Building Society
Chelsea Mortgage Services
Norwich & Peterborough Building Society
Period covered 1st July 2013 to 31st December 2013

Below is a table showing how many complaints Yorkshire Building Society received and dealt with from 1st July 2013 to 31st December 2013. The comparative figures show how these relate to the number of accounts or income in each grouping, to allow comparisons to be made with other financial organisations on a consistent basis.

To put the figures into context:

  • We have over 3.76 million banking and loan accounts. We received 0.83 complaints for every 1000 accounts.
  • We have nearly 196,000 mortgage accounts, We received 8.92 complaints for every 1000 mortgages.
  • We received 56.5 general insurance and pure protection complaints for every £1m of annual gross premium income.
  • We received 3.94 life and pensions complaints for every 1000 policyholders.
  • We received 34 investment complaints for every £1m of annual gross premium income.

Complaints are very important to us. We use complaints to understand where our customers aren't happy with our service so we can make improvements. We always do our best to deal with complaints as quickly and fairly as possible. Our complaints process has been designed with customers at its heart. If you have a complaint, please get in touch and we'll do all we can to resolve the matter with you.


Complaints Data

Complaints received and dealt with by Yorkshire Building Society from 1st July 2013 – 31st December 2013.

Product/Service Grouping Number of complaints opened Number of complaints closed Complaints closed within 8 weeks Closed complaints upheld by YBS
Banking and credit cards 3109 2539 98.1% 31.3%
Home Finance 1748 1403 95.5% 44.3%
General Insurance & Pure protection 2141 2199 99.8% 9.2%
Life, Pensions and Decumulation 134 130 96.9% 10.0%
Investments 99 101 95.1% 30.7%