Complaints Publication Report

See how many complaints Yorkshire Building Society received and dealt over a six month period and how these relate to the number of accounts in each grouping, to allow comparisons to be made with other financial organisations on a consistent basis.

1st January 2014 to 30th June 2014


Firm Name Yorkshire Building Society
Other firms included in this report Norwich & Peterborough Building Society
Chelsea Building Society
Barnsley Building Society
Chelsea Mortgage Services
Period covered 1st January 2014 to 30th June 2014

Below is a table showing how many complaints Yorkshire Building Society received and dealt with from 1st January 2014 to 30th June 2014. The comparative figures show how these relate to the number of accounts or income in each grouping, to allow comparisons to be made with other financial organisations on a consistent basis.

To put the figures into context:

  • We have nearly 3.7 million Banking and loan accounts. We received 1.09 complaints for every 1000 accounts.
  • We have over 192,000 mortgage accounts. We received 12.63 complaints for every 1000 accounts.
  • We received 62.2 general insurance and pure protection complaints for every £1 million of gross annual premiums.
  • We received 3.19 life and pension complaints for every 1000 policy holders.
  • We received 171 investment complaints for every £1 million of gross premium income.

Complaints are very important to us. We use complaints to understand where our customers aren't happy with our service so we can make improvements. We always do our best to deal with complaints as quickly and fairly as possible. Our complaints process has been designed with customers at its heart. If you have a complaint, please get in touch and we'll do all we can to resolve the matter with you.


Complaints Data

Complaints received and dealt with by Yorkshire Building Society from 1st January 2014 – 30th June 2014.

Product/Service Grouping Number of complaints opened Number of complaints closed Complaints closed within 8 weeks Closed complaints upheld by YBS
Banking and credit cards 4025 3790 63.8% 23.5%
Home Finance 2425 1968 40.5% 43.0%
General Insurance & Pure protection 2267 1972 95.1% 8.4%
Life, Pensions and Decumulation 147 133 84.2% 16.5%
Investments 239 169 92.3% 16.6%