[x close]

Look out for a change in the appearance of your YBS website soon. We are redesigning the site and will be launching the new website in the next few weeks.

Complaints publication report

1st January 2018 to 30th June 2018

Firm Name Yorkshire Building Society
Other firms included in this report

Chelsea Building Society
Norwich & Peterborough Building Society

Period covered 1 January 2018 to 30 June 2018

Below is a table showing how many complaints Yorkshire Building Society received and dealt with from 1 January 2018 to 30 June 2018.

The figures below show how these relate to the number of accounts in each grouping, to allow comparisons to be made with other financial organisations on a consistent basis.

  • We have just over 3 million banking, savings and loan accounts and received 1.48 complaints in total for every 1000 accounts.
  • We have over 138,000 mortgage balances and receive 13.49 complaints for every 1000 mortgage balances.
  • We have just under 102, 000 policies across insurance and pure protection. Within this category we also report complaints for products we no longer sell namely Mortgage Payment and Protection (MPPI) and received 80 complaints per 1000 insurance and pure protection in force. 98% of these insurance and pure protection complaints were MPPI complaints.

Complaints are very important to us. We use complaints to understand where our customers aren’t happy with our service so we can make improvements. We always do our best to deal with complaints as quickly and fairly as possible. Our complaints process has been designed with customers at its heart. If you have a complaint, please get in touch and we’ll do all we can to resolve the matter with you.


back to top

Complaints data

Complaints received and dealt with by Yorkshire Building Society from 1st January 2018 – 30th June 2018.

  Number of complaints opened by Volume of business  
Product/Service Grouping Provision (at reporting period end date) intermediation (within the reporting period) Number of complaints opened Number of complaints closed Percentage closed within 3 days Percentage closed after 3 days but within 8 weeks Percentage upheld Main cause of complaints opened
Banking and credit cards 1.48   4601 4699 81.76% 17.79% 66.8% General Admin / Customer Service
Home Finance 13.49   1864 1946 57.55% 41.37% 68.9% General Admin / Customer Service
Insurance & Pure protection 80   8157 8842 36.43% 59.22% 25.1% Advising, Selling and Arranging
Decumulation and Pensions   N/A           Advising, Selling and Arranging
Investments   N/A 99 106 20.75% 65.09% 20.8% Advising, Selling and Arranging
Credit Related N/A              

Key

  • Provision - these are the number of complaints per 1000 active accounts or 1000 outstanding balances (Home Finance) as of 30th June 2018
  • Intermediation - Number of sales in the period 1st January 2018 – 30th June 2018.
back to top

Get in touch

Visit a branch or agency

Enter a town, city or postcode to find your nearest branch.

Call us

  • 8am - 8pm: Mon to Fri
  • 9am - 1pm: Sat
0800 056 5252
The embedded asset does not exist:
Asset Type: YBS_Snippet_C
Asset Id: 1394658781091
PAGENAME: YBS_VI/YBS_Snippet_C/Detail