Complaints Publication Report

See how many complaints Yorkshire Building Society received and dealt over a six month period and how these relate to the number of accounts in each grouping, to allow comparisons to be made with other financial organisations on a consistent basis.

1st July 2019 to 31st December 2019


Firm Name Yorkshire Building Society
Other firms included in this report Chelsea Building Society
Norwich & Peterborough Building Society
Period covered 1st July 2019 to 31st December 2019

Below is a table showing how many complaints Yorkshire Building Society received and dealt with from 1st July 2019 to 31st December 2019.

The figures below show how these relate to the number of accounts in each grouping, to allow comparisons to be made with other financial organisations on a consistent basis.

  • We have just under 3 million banking, savings and loan accounts and received 0.85 complaints in total for every 1000 accounts.
  • We have just under 122,000 mortgage balances and receive 7.01 complaints for every 1000 mortgage balances.
  • We have just over 85,000 policies across insurance and pure protection. Within this category we also report complaints for products we no longer sell namely Mortgage Payment and Protection (MPPI) and received 209.54 complaints per 1000 insurance and pure protection in force. 99% of these insurance and pure protection complaints were MPPI complaints.

Complaints are very important to us. We use complaints to understand where our customers aren’t happy with our service so we can make improvements. We always do our best to deal with complaints as quickly and fairly as possible. Our complaints process has been designed with customers at its heart. If you have a complaint, please get in touch and we’ll do all we can to resolve the matter with you.


Complaints Data

Complaints received and dealt with by Yorkshire Building Society from 1st July 2019 to 31st December 2019.

  Number of complaints opened by Volume of business
Product/Service Grouping Provision1
(at reporting period end date)
Intermediation2
(within the reporting period)
Number of complaints opened Number of complaints closed Percentage closed within 3 days Percentage closed after 3 days but within 8 weeks Percentage upheld Main cause of complaints opened
Banking and credit cards 0.85   2551 2448 66.18% 28.35% 71.65% General Admin / Customer Service
Home Finance 7.01   852 826 35.35% 53.03% 62.59% General Admin / Customer Service
Insurance & Pure protection 209.54   17832 14856 11.42% 56.01% 17.56% Advising, Selling and Arranging
Decumulation and Pensions N/A   2 2 50% 50% 0% Advising, Selling and Arranging
Investments   N/A 161 158 16.46% 75.95% 1.27% Advising, Selling and Arranging
Credit Related N/A              
Key

1 Provision - these are the number of complaints per 1000 active accounts or 1000 outstanding balances (Home Finance) as of 31st December 2019.
2 Intermediation - Number of sales in the period 1st July 2019 to 31st December 2019.