See how many complaints Yorkshire Building Society received and dealt over a six month period and how these relate to the number of accounts in each grouping, to allow comparisons to be made with other financial organisations on a consistent basis.

01/01/21 to 30/06/21

First Name
Yorkshire Building Society
Other firms included in this report

Chelsea Building Society
Norwich & Peterborough Building Society

Period covered
01/01/21 to 30/06/21
Below is a table showing how many complaints Yorkshire Building Society received and dealt with from 01/01/21 to 30/06/21
The figures below show how these relate to the number of accounts in each grouping, to allow comparisons to be made with other financial organisations on a consistent basis.
  • We have just under 3 million banking, savings and loan accounts and received 0.55 complaints in total for every 1000 accounts.
  • We have just under 103,000 mortgage balances and receive 6.70 complaints for every 1000 mortgage balances.
  • We have just over 69,000 policies across insurance and pure protection. Within this category we also report complaints for products we no longer sell namely Mortgage Payment and Protection (MPPI) and received 0.46 complaints per 1000 insurance and pure protection in force.
Our service offering to our customers is very important to us. We always do our best to deal with complaints quickly and fairly and whilst we don’t want customers to be dissatisfied with the service provided, we use the insight to enhance and improve our service proposition. If you have a complaint, please get in touch and we’ll do all we can to resolve the matter with you.

Complaints Data

Complaints received and dealt with by Yorkshire Building Society from 01/01/21 to 30/06/21
  Number of complaints opened by Volume of business  
Product/Service Grouping Provision1
(at reporting period end date)
Intermediation2
(within the reporting period)
Number of complaints opened Number of complaints closed Percentage closed within 3 days Percentage closed after 3 days but within 8 weeks Percentage upheld Main cause of complaints opened
Banking and credit cards 0.55   1633 1627 50.89% 48.68% 71.42% General Admin / Customer Service
Home Finance 6.70   689 695 31.22% 67.05% 58.71% General Admin / Customer Service
Insurance & Pure protection 0.46   32 34 17.65% 76.47% 44.12% Advising, Selling and Arranging
Decumulation and Pensions N/A   1 1 0.00% 100.00% 0.00% Advising, Selling and Arranging
Investments   N/A 9 8 0.00%% 100.00% 0.00% Advising, Selling and Arranging
Credit Related N/A              
Key

1 Provision - these are the number of complaints per 1000 active accounts or 1000 outstanding balances (Home Finance) as of 30th June 2021.
2 Intermediation - Number of sales in the period 1st January 2021 to 30th June 2021.

Of the cases reviewed by The Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS) during the period 01/01/21 to 30/06/21 FOS agreed with 94% of the complaint outcomes made by the Society.