Complaints Publication Report

See how many complaints Yorkshire Building Society received and dealt over a six month period and how these relate to the number of accounts in each grouping, to allow comparisons to be made with other financial organisations on a consistent basis.

1st January 2016 to 30th June 2016


Firm Name Yorkshire Building Society
Other firms included in this report Chelsea Building Society
Barnsley Building Society
Norwich & Peterborough Building Society
Norwich & Peterborough Investment Brokers
Period covered 1st January 2016 to 30th June 2016

Below is a table showing how many complaints Yorkshire Building Society received and dealt with from 1st January 2016 to 30th June 2016.

The figures below show how these relate to the number of accounts or income in each grouping, to allow comparisons to be made with other financial organisations on a consistent basis.

  • We have over 3.1 million Banking and loan accounts. We received 1.0 complaints for every 1000 accounts.
  • We have over 167,000 mortgage accounts. We received 11.8 complaints for every 1000 accounts.
  • We received 238 general insurance and pure protection complaints for every £1 million of gross annual premiums.

Complaints are very important to us. We use complaints to understand where our customers aren't happy with our service so we can make improvements. We always do our best to deal with complaints as quickly and fairly as possible. Our complaints process has been designed with customers at its heart. If you have a complaint, please get in touch and we'll do all we can to resolve the matter with you.


Complaints Data

Complaints received and dealt with by Yorkshire Building Society from 1st January 2016 – 30th June 2016.

Product/Service Grouping Number of complaints opened Number of complaints closed Complaints closed within 8 weeks Closed complaints upheld by YBS
Banking and credit cards 3176 3325 98.3% 47.0%
Home Finance 1981 2081 97.4% 58.6%
General Insurance & Pure protection 3574 3810 95.6% 14.6%
Life, Pensions and Decumulation 76 77 83.1% 7.8%
Investments 92 83 100.0% 37.3%